Hone your outdoor survival skills and gain valuable life experience at Scouts!

Scouts is the third section of Scouting, for boys and girls aged 11-14 years. It gives young people the opportunity to take part in a range of activities that teach important life skills - while having fun and keeping active!

Scouts focuses on allowing young people to develop their confidence and teaches them how to work as part of a team. Scouts learn essential outdoor safety skills as well as participate in a variety of physical and intellectual challenges.

The programs are designed to target each young person's own special interests, encouraging them to enjoy their favourite hobbies using meaningful badges and awards.

Epic bushwalks and camping expeditions, getting out on the water in a kayak, canoe or sailboat or even going up in a plane on a visit to the Air Activity Centre are just some of the adventures Scouts get up to!

reference: https://www.nsw.scouts.com.au/about/youth-program/scouts/

Read more

Australian Scout Award

The peak award in the Scout section, The Australian Scout Award,  can be earned by Scouts once they have consistently demonstrated their leadership abilities by

  • completing an Adventurous Journey (hike)

  • leadership course and

  • undertake a personal reflection.

Where is Scouts Held?

Hume Region has Scout Units in Appin, Bargo, Cabarita Mortlake, Camden, Campbelltown (Special Needs Scouting), Canley Heights, Catherine Field, Chipping Norton, Cobbitty, Fairfield Heights, Glenfield, Hoxton Park, Ingleburn, Leumeah, Liverpool, Mittagong, Narellan, Sefton, Smithfield (Homenetmen Navasart), Wattle Grove and Yaralla (Sea Scouts)

“I’ve had the opportunity to try heaps of new things at Scouts, like canoeing and rock-climbing, that I wouldn’t be able to do anywhere else.”